October 21 is Two Weeks Away!!!

We are two weeks away from October 21, 2011. In case that means nothing to you, allow me to refresh your memory. Remember Harold Camping, the “May 21st” guy? I spent an entire week going through one of his tracts concerning the end of the world. You can find each Camping article I’ve written here. I just warn you now, it’s not for the weak. I say this, not because I am such a prolific writer, but because Camping has REALLY crazy theology. Anyhow, many people think that October 21 was a new date that he had set, but it isn’t. He had been speaking about it for some time, saying that the rapture would occur on May 21, followed by mass earthly destruction – and the end of all things would occur on October 21.

Since May 21, not only has Camping suffered intense mockery, he had also suffered a stroke. Apparently, the stroke effected his speech too, and the voice that had been heard for months was suddenly silenced. During this time, his wife shared a few words:

“Of course Harold wants to recognize those doctors and nurses who have followed God’s unerring medical advice in their successful treatment of Harold’s condition.” Mrs. Camping explained.

“Harold, who can’t speak at this time, asked me to tell you that he’s already working with the Final Rapture Countdown up to October 21. He wants you to check off the many visible events he has noted since the May 21 beginning…massive earthquakes in Japan, Virginia and Alaska; Hurricanes Irene on the East Coast, Lee who is now in Louisiana, and Katia close behind in the Atlantic…all these are according to Harold’s Plan, minute by minute. He hopes all of you are good to go. Please send your checks to Harold as you’ve done before, he has had lots of expenses.

“And he wants me to remind you that he doesn’t take a penny of your money for himself or me, either. Besides, those of you who are tapped for the Rapture Express, you won’t need the cash anyway. So send as much as you can. The rest of you can consider it a down payment for your successful flight.

“No one should miss this one. It will be Harold’s last Rapture, and it’s on the cusp of Libra/Scorpio.”

Camping’s explanation of May 21 was that Christ did return – spiritually. Sound familiar? Anyhow, Camping has since returned from the hospital. Now, most of us know how confident he was about May 21, yet in a message posted on September 23, that confidence seemed to be weakened. Here’s what Camping said,

“I have been able to leave the hospital…and that has been very very comforting…There is progress being made…I still have a long way to go…I am particularly grateful when I hear about your prayers and your concerns…I do believe that we’re getting very near the very end…We’ve learned that there’s  a lot of things that we didn’t have quite right and that’s god’s good provision…

We would have not been able…to bring about the tremendous event that occurred on May 21 of this year, which probably be finished out on October 21 that’s coming very shortly. That looks like it will be at this point it looks like it will be the final end of everything. It also looks like that as god is developing the details for us we are learning from the Bible god’s details of the end, we find that god ….he has no pleasure in the death of the wicked….

Probably there will be no pain suffered by anyone because of their rebellion against god. This is very comforting to all of us…They’ll quietly die…the true believers will quietly receive the new heaven and the new earth. I really am beginning to think as I restudied these matters that there’s going to be no big display of any kind. The end is going to come very very quietly probably within the next month. It will happen that is by October 21…

Maybe god will keep me till the end also so that together we can go to be with him forever more and I am very convinced that all of the elect will definitely end up with the lord Jesus Christ in a very very few weeks. Thank you so much for allowing me to speak to you. I am so grateful and I wish that I were well, but on the other hand, I know my work has been done and I can wait on the lord knowing that he will complete it through others as he is so doing right now. Goodbye and may god bless each one of you.”

Not as confident. Sounds like he “probably” thought his certainty was foolish. Sounds like he “probably” doesn’t even believe what he is saying. I’m no mind reader, and I won’t attempt to be one now. We will just have to sit and wait, and see what happens with Mr. Camping these next two weeks. I do know that this wolf isn’t dead yet, so we ought to pray that perhaps God would grant him true repentance and faith in the gospel. I know that this man isn’t any more dead in sins than any of the elect were. Hopefully October 22 won’t be a reason for him to commit suicide, but to believe the gospel.

One thought on “October 21 is Two Weeks Away!!!”

Comments are closed.