It’s the End of the World As We… No It’s Not

Well, it just didn’t pan out the way Camping had hoped it would. Although the day isn’t over, I have a feeling things will continue just as they are – considering the mathematical lunacy Camping underwent to come up with his dates. The voice that once pounded the airwaves with certainty had been silenced with a stroke, and then emerged again with a tone of uncertainty.

“the end is going to come very, very quietly probably within the next month . . . by October 21. Probably there will be no pain suffered by anyone because of their rebellion against God . . .”

For more, you can refer to a previous post [here]

I don’t like to loom over someone like this with a shadow of “I told you so!” and I don’t believe you should either. He knows. Hopefully, this won’t cause him to commit suicide. I said it before, and I’ll continue to say it. This man needs to know that Christ is able to forgive the sins he has committed. Don’t assume he knows that, because he and his followers weren’t preaching the gospel when they were out on the streets. They were preaching adherence to their eschatology.

I can’t see into the future, but if I had to guess, I think that some fringe groups will spring from this. Don’t think that Camping will fade away. His “math” may very well carry over into new groups with leaders who have finely tuned it. One of the worst things we could do is think that because media stops covering someone, that the person is non threatening or is gone for good and we move on to the next guy. I’m not necessarily saying Camping will continue. I doubt he will try to set more dates. He may die tomorrow for all I know. But if history has shown us anything, it is that heresies continue, and there is always a crowd for them. The best way to combat heresy is not by learning it inside-out, but by studying the Word of God inside-out.

2 thoughts on “It’s the End of the World As We… No It’s Not”

  1. I’m interested in hearing how his followers are going to respond to this latest blunder. Are they going to continue trying to defend him? Are they going to exit stage left? Or are they make like the Seventh Day Adventists, reform a few things and then pretend as though nothing out of the ordinary had ever happened?

    Like

  2. I hope we can now move past all the Camping crap and get back to being eager for Jesus to come, and for all that this will mean, resurrection, the death of death, the end of rule and dominion, etc. Hebrews 2:8 At present we do not yet see everything in subjection to him. But we do see him for a little while was made lower than the angels, namely Jesus, crowned with glory and honor because of the suffering of death.

    Like

Comments are closed.