Harold Camping and the Mayans

Well it’s one year after Harold Camping’s failed prediction of the rapture. It’s crazy how at one point he was seemingly the one person everyone was talking about. He and his followers had posted billboards all over the place warning of the end. They drove around in RVs, crazily designed with May 21st predictions. If you’ve been following this site for a while, then you know that I spent time in Washington DC speaking  to some of the Campingites, and documenting the talks. I had also written a rebuttal to Camping’s “gospel” tracts. You can see it all [here]. Their message didn’t actually contain the gospel. It was, “Believe this date and be saved.” No mention of Christ’s bloody death on a cross. No mention of His burial. No mention of His glorious resurrection. No mention of all of that work done on behalf of His elect people.

And now we have the Mayan calendar thing coming up. The date predicted is December 21, 2012. I don’t really understand what it all entails, but I think the reason that date is set is because the Mayan calendar stops on that date. Apparently, the earth is supposed to turn upside down or something. Call me crazy, but it seems to me that if you chisel your calendar out of stone, and make it a circle, you will eventually run out of room. I saw something floating around the net claiming that since the Mayans hadn’t taken the Leap Year into account, then December 21, 2012 actually happened a few months ago. I don’t know how true that is.  But what I do know is that none of it matters. Dates have been predicted for the longest time. And when the Mayan calendar thing flops harder than the Camping prediction, it will only be a matter of time til the next one comes along.

I remember when I was in high school, September 11, 2001, and the terrorist airplane attacks had occurred. I walked into class, everyone was glued on the TV, my pre-calculus teacher was all glossy-eyed. No one really knew what was happening. I sure didn’t. I raced home that day blasting Megadeth’s Holy War. And then I did something a lot of people did. I went running to the writings of Nostradamus to see what he had to say about it. And what I read was slightly unnerving to me – probably much less so than others at that time. This was mainly because Nostradamus seemed to me to be too vague and poetic to make any sense out of anything. “Ohhhh two birds flying somewhere must mean that he foresaw September 11.” It was a stretch. Not to mention the tons of predictions he had gotten wrong. And it reminds me of the way a lot of folks are end times crazy. I certainly was.

This post is a lot different I guess from what I’ve done lately, because it’s just more of a rant. I guess if there’s a point to this at all, it’s just an encouragement to stop listening to these guys. They are a dime a dozen. No one knows when Christ will return. It’s been suggested by some folks that maybe demons went beforehand and gave this insight to the Mayans. Why demons would care about our being knowledgeable about the end, I don’t know. Seems to me that they’d lie about it to get people worried and off of what’s really important – the gospel. Just focus on that. Whether 90 year old men or 9,000 year old men are predicting the end, just ignore them. One year later, and it’s clear that some people don’t seem to learn a lesson from observing men who predict the end, still believing the hype.

2 thoughts on “Harold Camping and the Mayans”

  1. You have missed false prophet Ronald Weinland. He claims to be one of the two witnesses of the Book of Revelation(his wife is the other) and states Christ will return on May 27,2012 and stop WWIII which has to start before then and will be a thermonuclear event. He is the leader of the Church of God–Preparing for the Kingdom of God–an Armstrong cult splinter. see http://www.ronaldweinland.com and http://www.the-end.com.

    Like

Comments are closed.